Tuscan Semolina Tart

Standard
I moved to London, bought two round baking dishes and decided to replicate a taste of sunny Italy on my new kitchen.

I moved to London, bought two round baking dishes and decided to replicate a taste of sunny Italy on my new kitchen.

Time of preparation: 100 minutes Difficulty: Middle
Ingredients:
For dough:
  • Sugar________100 grams (caster)
  • Zest of ½ lemon
  • Flour________ 125 grams
  • Pinch of salt
  • Yolks________3
  • Butter________75 grams
 For filling:
  • Sugar________200 grams
  • Milk__________500 ml
  • Cinnamon_____1 pinch
  • Zest of an orange
  • Ricotta cheese_350 grams
  • Semolina_____ 125 grams
For glazing:
  • Dark chocolate__200 grams
  • Heavy Cream __ 200ml
DSC_0484

A piece of Tuscany

1.     Mix flour, sugar, salt, and zest of lemon. Add diced butter. Mix everything with hands or cut with a knife, add yolks, form a ball, wrap it in a food cling and put in a fridge for at leas an hour.
2.     Heat the milk, add semolina and cook it constantly stirring. Don’t let semolina become too dense and form lumps (in my case three minutes of cooking were enough).
3.     Strain ricotta cheese through a strainer. Add sugar and semolina, mix with a whisk. Add orange zest and cinnamon, mix again.
4.     Roll out the dough and transfer it in 25-cm (10-inch) baking dish. Pour semolina filling. Bake for 45 minutes on 180C (350F).
5.     For glazing melt the chocolate with cream. Cover the cake with chocolate and put it in the fridge to chill.
Few comments: the recipe above is the classic one. The cake comes up very big, so if you are alone or with just one more person and starving friends are not going to visit you – better bake a smaller cake, in 20cm baking dish. For me it is a little bit too sweet, so I would recommend to use no more than 100 grams of sugar for filling. For making dough I took just two yolks, I had big eggs and two were perfectly enough.
14 thoughts on “Tuscan Semolina Tart

  1. Hi,
    I love your blog as well! Thought I had come across an about but I can’t seem to find it anymore…?! :O
    While I mostly live on French sweets here, I love Italian sweets just the same [ice cream cafés FTW!!!], it’s just that there aren’t nearly as many pasticcerie here 😦 this semolina tart in particular I’ll definitely give a try!

    • Thank you 🙂
      Unfortunately, I know that outside Italy it’s really hard to find a good ice cream (face the same difficulties in London – so many pasticcerie and bakeries and almost no gelateria). But maybe you can advise me a good Japanese dessert?

      • IG-ZACLY!
        In the UK, I was getting by on huge orders from Galler’s http://www.galler.com/ webshop. It appears after my ordering-partner-in-crime Belgian friend & I left the UK, they closed it…
        Actually, back then the pâtisserie wave just started to kick so there was nothing really. In London, there were a few, like Ladurée.
        Actually, I guess I shouldn’t be saying this but personally, I don’t like Japanese food much… I really like almond pudding though, as far as Japanese desserts are concerned. Traditionally, Japan ain’t really a dessert country, though.
        Oh & there’s tons of good ice cream cafés in Germany. The thing I miss the most about it. I’ll be posting some ice cream café reviews later on but it’ll probably be a while.

      • NO WAY! they closed it…
        Actually both in UK and US the cupcakes and muffins are crazy popular. they are nice, but sometimes too simple.
        I was sure I had to go to Germany not UK! 🙂 I was also thinking about writing about best places to eat gelato in Italy.

      • Well let’s face it, they couldn’t survive without our orders.
        Not a huge muffin & even less of a cupcake fan, TBH. They’re super popular & all over the internet & I like how people are creative about decorating them, but taste wise cupcakes don’t do much for me at all; muffins, I like better but as is pretty obvious my true love lies with French pâtisserie/chocolaterie, Italian pasticcerie & Italian ice cream.
        YOU GO GIRL! You should do that mos def. Cos, like, when the hubby & I went to Bolzano in summer, I tried to research the best ice cream places beforehand & what did I find? No info. So I’ll have some Bolzano reviews coming up [who knows when], but not of ice cream places I reckon because the ice cream I had there wasn’t anything to write home, let alone a blog about.
        Actually, the UK has become MUCH better food wise than it used to be… Well, not that THAT was any difficult… Eh eh British people, please avert your eyes. I think it has lots of nice cafés, & also restaurants & home cooking have become much better. Still, on the sweets front, I think it still has a long way to go before getting into the same ball park as Germany, Austria, France, Italy, Switzerland, … yet & several of these countries aren’t in the same ball park as each other in the first place, aha ha.

      • hahaha, I think I shall call the owner and say there are two people who are a decent replacement – he can relaunch the business.
        I think it’s great as I have plans to open my cafe – well actually I wanted a restaurant in Milan, now I want a cafe here. With a lot of nice desserts and cakes, and true Italian icecream. What I don’t get is why icecream suck so much in many places – there are cows everywhere and milk is not bad. Austria – I LOVE IT! Just posted a recipe of an amazing apple strudel.
        Ok, depending on my internet connection the first reviews are to be published soon.The problem with icecream is that Italians write only in Italian, and many foreigners are totally unreliable in their judgements. I knew people who ate horrible frozen paella in Spain saying it was amazing. And ice cream is much more subtle than paella.

      • Wow! That sounds awesome! You go girl!
        When you open I expect a full report on your blog. I’ll definitely make an effort to come check it out! What’s your timeline?
        Actually, I know you can get Pierre Marcolini somewhere in London. I can’t look it up right now because I’m traveling & WordPress on the smartphone doesn’t allow me to answer a comment & at the same time open another web page, apparently. To survive, Hotel Chocolat was acceptable. A far cry from really good, but in a country that calls stuff ‘chocolate’ that according to EU regulations isn’t [think Cadbury’s], you make do. I’m sure you have more things available now than when I left 3 1/2 years ago, & London has always had one finger on the zeitgeist.
        Yeah the ice cream thing, I just don’t get it all. In the case of Japan, it gets so HOT in summer & all they have is those horrible American chains like Baskin Robbins & they think it’s the shit – URGH. Puke alert. They used to have several Groms but they had to close down most of them – a VERY sad but telling testimony.
        That ties in with what you’re saying about other people’s judgment, I completely concur. There’s only a select handful of people whose judgment I trust & probably not even in their cases at a 100%. I guess I basically only trust my own taste buds, aha ha ha.

      • 🙂 I can give the full report even while opening 🙂 But it’s not a matter of one day, so now I need first to resolve a lot of formalities.
        hahahaha, cadbury’s – I was so sad in the US once so I went to the supermarket and bought myself a chocolate. It was Cadbury’s – I have no idea why I thought it was a good brand of chocolate. After it I became twice as sad as before. Neither me nor my flatmates were never able to finish this sweet peace of delight 😀
        You know, it is also the matter of getting used – when I came in Italy for the first time all ice cream seemed delicious. After I moved to Milan to live, I started to go to Grom. After I lived there a year, I stopped going to Grom and went to real artisan gelaterias only. But it takes time to develop a taste about something, which is not typical for you. Nevertheless, if I had Grom here I would run to it 🙂 (I lie, I wouldn’t – it’s so freaking cold!). BTW, what do you think about Magnum?

      • Anna, shoot me an e-mail @ wattwurmnashi [at] gmail [dot] com &/or add me on Facebook [wattwurm nashi] – I’m happy to continue this discussion here but I feel our comments are getting ridiculously long ehe he
        For now, suffice to say I’m proper hardcore & an ice cream gourmet all year round [the same goes for hot espresso drinks]!

Leave a Reply

